Are you Sending Twitter DM Spam? Here’s how to fix it.

Twitter DM spam is a drag. It kills your social proof and makes you look like a bonehead. What is Twitter spam you say? It’s usually a DM that is sent to all of your followers that says something like “Hey, so and so is saying bad things about you” or “Check out this link.” It’s usually then followed by a link.

How does someone get access to your account to send these messages? Most likely you’ve granted a third-party application permission to post on your behalf.

Twitter has a rich third-party ecosystem that can enhance how you use Twitter in all kinds of ways. Unfortunately, the dark side of this is if you can’t trust the application they can wreak havoc on your account.

So, if you are receiving messages from your followers telling you that you are sending DM spam, here’s how you can clean it up.

Firstly, login to Twitter.

  1. Go to your profile “settings” page (at https://twitter.com/settings/). Go to the Password section.
  2. Change your password to a new password, choosing something long/complex but easy to remember.
  3. Go to Settings -> Apps. Revoke access to everything you see listed here (except ‘Twitter for iPhone’).
  4. Go to Settings -> Account. Check that your e-mail address is correct (If not, update it & save changes).
  5. Sign out of Twitter.
  6. Clear your browser’s cache.
  7. Shut down your browser.
  8. Restart the browser, and then log in to Twitter using your new password.
  9. Go to Settings -> Apps.  Make sure that there are no apps left which still have access (except ‘Twitter for iPhone’).

You can also use the application MyPermissions to see which applications are connecting to your account.

Remember, to avoid this problem in the first place always make sure you know who you are giving permission to. It’s going to save you embarrassment and help protect your online reputation.